Hi Everyone! (1 Viewer)

Oct 9, 2019
Joppa
Funster No
MH
Hymer S650 Starline
Exp
Hi to everyone from Edinburgh. Martin here. Been reading motorhome fun for a little while now trying to get my bearings around the ins and outs of buying a campervan and have enjoyed the craic and banter so thought it was time to join the gang. So here goes about myself. Travelling is something I love to do and I can go back many years to when I used to take a bus with my pals to go hill walking and wild camping in the mountains but that's probably too far back to go so I'll start a bit later to when I bought a touring bike (honda vfr then yamaha fj1200) with luggage attached and with my wife on the back would tour Europe with a tent. Then the kids arrived (a bit later in life than I would have liked but that's another story) and I sold the bike and bought a caravan and continued going to the continent but this time with a couple of kids in tow. I work in education and so got six weeks hols every year to get up and go and it was a fantastic way to spend time with very young children. Sold the caravan after many adventures and then on impulse got a trailer tent for £800 which although a bit tatty was great for holidaying in, almost as good as the caravan, and we spent many hols away in France and Holland in the tent. This finally fell to bits and I got another caravan but this was just a bit too big and although we went in it to Holland I never felt comfortable towing it so it mostly stayed in the garden where it was handy for relatives to stay in when they came to visit. Of course by this time the kids were getting older and at uni so last week I sold it and we are now looking for a camper van. We have our eyes on a Citroen Relay pvc which we saw last Sunday in Fife. I am in my 60's and will be retiring in a couple of years and my wife is in her late 50's. We are both looking forward to getting away in retirement to the vast expanses of the continent.

Dec 25, 2015
Nelson New Zealand