HELP required from technical thicko, please

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by LAM, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. LAM

    LAM Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +330
    Have just taken possession of the 'Chinese cheapie'. Like the look/size of it, HOWEVER.... apparently, we have visited Germany, Many times, but we can't get a signal !!!!
    Have left it outside of the house (thick walls syndrome) for a considerable amount of time + no joy.
    I have scrolled thru' the forum for some leading light........... It would appear that 'once you have worked out how to use it' it is simple..... but not for 'thickos' like me................. Please HELP

    :xdoh::xdoh::xdoh::xdoh::xdoh::xdoh:
     
  2. LAM

    LAM Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +330
    Sorry failed to mention it is a sat nav, see told you I was fick !!
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    have you mounted it on a window with A CLEAR VIEW of the sky?
     
  4. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,488
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +47,757
    Send GJH (Graham), a PM. He's the *FUN* expert on these units. :xThumb::xThumb:
     
  5. Jimbohorlicks

    Jimbohorlicks Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Cheshire, Treacle Town
    Ratings:
    +2,049
    search for SAT NAV in the search box -there's lotas of info for this sat nav in there-best of luck
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    The manual is now in downloads
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +24,568
    Sounds faulty to me.

    Should only take a few minutes to find enough satellites to get a fix.....even if you have travelled hundreds of miles from your last satnav location.
     
  8. LAM

    LAM Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +330
    Thank you all. :notworthy2::notworthy2:

    Have found the manual, Techno, once again you come to my rescue, fingers crossed I can follow it. Watch this space !!
     
  9. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,554
    I agree. On the face of it, it appears similar to the problem described Here, where the faulty unit ended up being replaced.
    I wouldn't go so far as to claim that :xgrin: Lunarman knows far more than I :xgrin:
    You won't go far wrong following the advice given by Jimbohorlicks and Techno100 above in general (if the unit isn't faulty).
     
  10. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,588
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,123
    I know nothing:rolleyes: Where in Wiltshire are you Lam?
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page