Hello! Newbie here looking for any advice for a DIY van conversion :) (1 Viewer)

Sinead09

Free Member
Feb 22, 2021
Funster No
MH
Don't own one - YET!
Hi there!
I live in Northamptonshire and I am currently waiting for restrictions to be lifted to go and test drive some vans I have shortlisted, the idea at the moment is to find a suitable high roof, MWB van to convert into a camper. I would love to do UK trips and hopefully Europe too (fingers crossed!), something I have wanted to do for a very long time.
Any help or advice along the way would be most appreciated! :giggle: Thank you!

Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003
Unless you have a particular reason to use a MWB van you will have more scope conversion wise with a LWB van which in the Fiat Ducatto or Peugeot Boxer is usually 6m although some converters use the 6.3 m long version.
The Ducatto or Boxer are also wide enough to fit a fixed transverse bed across the back which is useful if you intend spending a few weeks at a time in it,

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I'll second @Mikeco's suggestion for a Boxer / Ducato / Relay (all three the same, by different makers). In addition to them being wide enough for a full size double width-ways they are also more square when compared to other vans. The walls in Sprinters for example curve in comparatively much more sharply than a Boxer. This means building off the walls is much more tricky and there's less space the higher up you get.

Just buy one with a better engine than mine. I'm seriously considering driving mine into the canal and claiming on the insurance! :rolleyes:

You might have already seen them but Greg Virgoe's build series is well worth watching.

You can also see my progress here:

Grummyb

Free Member
Dec 31, 2020
Corby
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since about 2013
Hi and welcome from a fellow northamptonioan