Hello. I'm new to this, and have burning Questions. Electric/solar. (1 Viewer)

PussyGalore

Free Member
Oct 31, 2020
Funster No
MH
1994 Renault Trafic
Exp
Van virgin
Hiya, you lot seem like a friendly (and more importantly, knowledgeable) bunch, so having picked up my new (1990s) Elddis yesterday, I have a few questions and was wondering if anybody could offer advice. I registered last night while watching a Sean Connery obit on the news so the only username I could think of is Pussy Galore (I regret nothing).

I bought the MH to be able to live off grid for 2 weeks at a time, with no hook up at all (though water and waste disposal won't be a problem), so I was hoping solar would be my answer. I could fit a few 100w panels on the roof, certainly. I only really need electricity for the water pump, and to charge my laptop and phone in order to WFH. It's only a small laptop (Lenovo Chromebook) so I'm anticipating this being possible hopefully?

I'm hoping, and having done some research, that 2 x 4.5kg gas canisters will be enough for heating, cooking, refrigerating and washing for two weeks.

As well as the two general queries above, I have more;

1. I drove the MH for 3 hours yesterday, and have had it on EHU for a few hours today, but the leisure battery indicator is still showing the red 'low' light. Is this normal? If it was almost depleted when I bought it, how long would it take to charge it? There is enough in there to turn the lights on but they're very dim. The seller had no idea how old the leisure battery is so it probably needs changing.

2. With the MH on EHU, the plugs are working, but I don't know how to turn the lights or the water pump on, on EHU. The switch has to be set to either the starter or the leisure battery for these to work.