Gearbox oil additives/friction modifiers (1 Viewer)

Jan 11, 2018
Malvern Link, Malvern, UK
Funster No
MH
Chausson Welcome 85
Exp
Since 2018
I have an x250, the gearbox was replaced with a recon unit 2 years ago.
Generally it's ok but sometimes the upshift from 3rd to 4th is crunchy, indicating weak synchromesh.
Downchanges into 4th perplexingly are ok.
I assume the oil level is ok but have not checked it yet.

I know , if I understand correctly that synchromesh on 4th and 5th is weak on these gearboxes anyway.

I am an ex automotive transmissions engineer so I know how synchromesh works.

My question is have any Funsters had similar issues and have used an oil additives or modifier. Did it improve things and which one and what dose did you use?

TIA

PeteH

Free Member
Nov 22, 2007
East Riding of Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido, 999M.
Exp
18+yrs plus 25+Towing
There appears to be no reason why Oil Treatment additives cannot be used, But some are formulated allegedly just to be used with low viscosity synthetic lubricants. So I guess it`s read the label?.

Apr 12, 2012
N/E Lincs
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Rienza
Exp
as above
Modern gearboxes should not need any additives if designed and built properly. I have driven large vehicles with crash gearboxes filled with normal gearbox oil. The only reason for problems with gear changes were down to bad drivers rushing the changes.

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Molybdenum disulphide is added to lubricants operating under extreme pressure. In the automotive world it's found in CV joints. It's a expensive substance therefore only used when essential. I have never seen wear where it has been added. In the case of some Fiat / Peugeot van gearboxes with the after-thought fifth gear arrangement it could possibly be useful insurance against lubrication failure.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Jake Royd
Jan 11, 2018
Funster No
MH
Chausson Welcome 85
Exp
Since 2018