First motorhome purchase HELP (1 Viewer)

chacalou

Free Member
Sep 7, 2017
Twickenham
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I am a newbie
Hello all,

I am looking to purchase a motorhome in the near future and need some advice

Please see below a “few” requirements:

- Up to 7.5m long, Up to 3500KG and up to 3m high (class 2 for French tolls)
- Ideally low profile or A class (petrol consumption / aerodynamics) but may consider overcab if there is a bargain to be had
- Not more than 5 years old
- Budget up to £40K or €45k
- Ideally sleeps 4-5 and with 4-5 seatbelts
- Left or right hand drive
- Min requirement for sleeping is one large double bed and 2 single beds
- Close dealer and servicing therefore looking at Wilmoths in Guildford, Wokingham Motorhomes and Marquis

I live in Twickenham, I am planning on going to France quite a bit and therefore I need to find out what is more cost effective for me in terms of (travelling across to France, tolls, insurance, consumption).

I would consider purchasing the MH in France (being French) however, since the £/€ conversion is so rubbish these days, it may be more hassle than it is worth especially with insurance, road tax...

The other concern I have is regarding diesel and the change of rules. Is it safer to go for petrol since the government is cracking down on diesel engines? What about LPG?

We already did a weekend excursion with my uncle’s motorhome in France and we loved it however my other half wants to have a minimum of comfort with a nice bed and decent shower cubicle. It also needs to be modern “bien sur”. She told me that she wanted Le Voyageur LV 8.5CL!?! however this is definitely over budget... ;o)

BTW, is it worth purchasing it at the NEC event in Birmingham?

Apologies for the essay and looking forward to your motorhome/dealer recommendation

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
Hi and welcome.