first ever question - who can drive? (1 Viewer)

kevofcov

Free Member
Jun 8, 2017
uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi

Newbie with my first question.

I passed my test in ’82 so can drive anything up to 7.5 ton and can tow with little restriction. Over the years these permissions have been reduced down and down for new people passing their tests.

Will my offspring be able to drive my dream motorhome soon to be purchased? The vehicle will be very similar to a 2008 Auto Trail 840S 3 axle Ducato based (less than 3500kg I believe) My kids passed their tests in 2009 and 2010.

I don’t want to buy and then find that they cannot drive the vehicle.

Any help is appreciated.

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
As above when it comes to entitlement ...... but at less than 3500 kg is there enough payload to make it practicable ?

There are only two of us and we had our up-plated as with kayaks and cycles and all the gear we needed the extra allowance.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
If your children took their test relatively recently they won't have the C1 endorsement so won't be able to drive anything over 3500kg.

OP
OP
K

kevofcov

Free Member
Jun 8, 2017
uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Brilliant thanks.

As long as I purchase below 3500kg gross then all is well for all of us.

Thanks for your help

Regards Kev

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
fifth wheeler is the way forward . or a mini artic .
but for the young they would have to take the b+e test.
but if they took the b+e before 19th jan 2013 there was no trailer weight limit only the trainweight of towing vehicle .
all food for thought.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
Brilliant thanks.