Free Member
Aug 29, 2017
Farnborough
Funster No
MH
Niesmann Bischoff Arto 69
Exp
Im a newbie
I am thinking of getting a scooter to stick on the back... then I thought maybe a pair of the new fangled e bikes would be better?... No experience of them though... anyone got one?

How much is a good one?
How far will they go on a charge?
Will they cope with proper hills?
How long will they take to recharge... dont want to open up the genny can of worms, but id wild camping I am gonna need to get some charge back in..

Or just get a normal scooter / small motor cycle???

Any thoughts

Stu :)

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Two totally different beasts e-bikes will never replace a scooter if you don't like exercise. Yes e-bikes do make hills a lot easier but you still have to put a fair amount of effort in. We find with e-bikes compared to ordinary bikes is we go further, go up much steeper hills and do it all a lot faster but still end up just as knackered.
Charging not a problem with 200 watts of solar and decent leisure batteries & obviously you need an inverter we use a 1000 watt pure sine one. A flat 400 watt battery takes about 3 hours to charge but it is best to charge them before there are flat so you don't hammer the leisure batteries too much and give the solar some time to recharge them.

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
Best thing with ebikes is to try one and see which, if any, suits you.

However they do need to be charged and if you are wilding that might not be so easy.