Gman88667733

Free Member
Mar 13, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
My partner and I are hunting for a van to convert and ideally reclassify as a motorhome or motor caravan. I had my heart set on a low roof Citroen Relay, but have now seen that they require a high top? What exactly is the height they require? Also looking at medium roof Transits and a high top Vivaro... But not sure if the medium roof transit would be high enough. They are not very clear.
I have a quote for insurance for a camper conversion policy that requires it to be converted within 12 months. But I am not sure if I could insure it any other way if we did not reclassify it.

Thanks

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
There is no minimum height and I believe the maximum is 16ft.....as in HGV trailers.
An average motorhome height is 10ft.
DVLA require a motorhome to Look like a motorhome and not a van.... Min number of windows, decals, awning rail etc.
DVLA won't accept pop top roofs... IE: elevating roofs... in their new requirements.

• Informative
Reactions: f6c

Deleted User
The external appearance relates to what the vehicle looks like. If, in the eyes of the DVLA, it doesn't look like a campervan then the log book will not get changed to motor caravan but more likely changed to van with windows. It seems like pot luck as to wheteher or not your vehicle gets reclassified as there seems little or no difference between some vehicles that have been reclassified and those that have been turned down.
However, the DVLA do state that if the internal arrangements comply with their requirement then the vehicle can still be used as a campervan and have the benefits of campervan speed limits and ferry tolls.

With regard to your query about height it is hard to say what exactly is required from the DVLA guidelines but the vehicles that have been reclassified as a Motor Caravan are typicall H2 Relays and their equivalent.