Ducato Radio

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by pvw10, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi all,
    could you tell me please where your aerial is mounted, front left wing ?

    Reason is my reception is poor yet a good quality radio is fitted, and no aerial visiible !!
    I took the passenger side dash apart and behold the usual rubber aerial was found just lying on the car dash but under the plastic dash if you get what i mean, some lazy arsed installer from new i guess ?

    I will if i have to drill the wing but any good alternatives ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,067
    Location:
    Rochester
    Ratings:
    +554
    Believe it or not it's in the wing mirror and about as much use as a cat flap in a submarine.

    I gave up and put one on the roof.
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,269
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +13,300
    You are lucky, many have found that the aerial wire goes up towards the roof but was cut off when the converter removed the roof to fit the overcab.

    I dont like drilling bodywork, so would recomend you fit an internal aerial that sticks to the inside of the windscreen.


    Later model vans have the aerial built into the passenger door mirror
     
  4. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Crikey didnt know that.
    Are the windscreen ones ok then ?
     
  5. mike mcglynn

    mike mcglynn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    St. Helens MERSEYSIDE
    Ratings:
    +8,700
    radio aerial

    If youre interested I have a windscreen aerial unused, pm me I bought it off e bay but have never fitted it:Doh:
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,269
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +13,300
    the better quality ones with an amplifier work, the ones for about £5 and just stickybacked plastic not so good
     
  7. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks i will check it out as drilling holes in wings is a last resort for sure.
     
  8. brynric

    brynric Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +415
    Mine is stuck to the windscreen. It seems fine but then I don't listen to a lot of radio.
     
  9. bobh

    bobh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Powys
    Ratings:
    +15
    Had rubish reception on my 2010 ducato so dealer fitted a n/s wing aerial
    and said they do a lot of them reception now better but not perfect:Eeek:
     
  10. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,171
    Location:
    NW England
    Ratings:
    +12,466
    WE had a bendy rubber aerial fitted on the left hand front wing of our Ducato, and the radio works fine.
     
  11. Cossieg

    Cossieg Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Yate for the summer!
    Ratings:
    +114
    Attached is the Autotrail wiring diagram. You can see that the aerial is supposed to be in the NS mirror. Mine didn't work so I ran a cable from the status aerial to the head unit & that works well.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like it Like it x 2
  12. lesr48

    lesr48 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Cleethorpes
    Ratings:
    +85
    Mine is a useless piece of rubbery plastic sticking out of the nearside wing. Reception is crap and I am thinking of replacing it with one fitted into the lockers over the windscreen.
     
  13. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,546
    Different type of van and aerial but it might be the same external screw connection problem as we had. Fixed it using a dab of petroleum jelly as described Here. It might be worth a go before spending more money.
     
  14. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ratings:
    +5,011
    the small panel above the head lights is plastic easy to drill and esay to replace if iut goes wrong thing you have to line with foil to get a ground plane or so im told
     
  15. lesr48

    lesr48 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Cleethorpes
    Ratings:
    +85
    Thanks for that GJH, I'll give it a go.
     
  16. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,571
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +4,769
    An alternative to drilling 'oles: mount the aerial on the edge of your solar panel & bring the cable in through the same hole. only works if you have a solar panel.:D

    A more sensible tip: before fitting a replacement buy a cheap car aerial & a coax extension then in a weak signal area try it in various positions on the van until you get the best results. Which will be on the edge of your solar panel.
     
  17. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,822
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Ratings:
    +13,696
    Have a look at this thread and the comments from jamesvanbitz in particular.
     
  18. RS_rob

    RS_rob Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    897
    Location:
    Turnford
    Ratings:
    +639
    No I only get reception when parked, luckily I do have a hole in the wing & working on fixing this issue for good.
     

Share This Page