Do's and don'ts when using and A-Frame (1 Viewer)

Oct 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Will be getting an A-frame for UK use. Not interested the argument, trailer vs A-frame. Trailer doesn't work for me. Decision made.

But advice from A-frame users on A-frame usage and problems. Anything you should do or more important shouldn't do? Can you turn to sharp etc?

Many thanks all

Apr 9, 2018
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey Adamo 75-4t
Exp
March 2018
The car will follow a tighter line around a bend than a trailer will. Allow more space.
Press brake pedal a few times to discharge the servo.
Handbrake off and in neutral. Obvious but easy to forget.

Get a blank key cut so you don’t have the actual starting key in the ignition.

Last edited:
Oct 20, 2010
Burry Port South Wales
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2003
If you need the key in the ignition to free up the steering lock make sure it's in the correct position and not allowing a drain on the battery. I always put the steering on near full lock before moving off and watch the steering straighten up in the rear view camera when we move off.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 17, 2012
WEST SUSSEX
Funster No
MH
HYMER B SL 674
Exp
SINCE 2005
I would go for a light version- without a jockey wheel as it makes everything so much easier. Also an inertia braking system which is the expensive part of the kit. There is a debate about a rear sign that says either ‘car in tow’ or ‘on-tow’. Make sure your insurance company knows you are towing. The blank key is a good idea as you are not covered if somebody jumps in an steels the car. Enjoy, we now make do with electric bikes ourselves.

Nov 17, 2012
WEST SUSSEX
Funster No
MH
HYMER B SL 674
Exp
SINCE 2005
Our A frame is from TAF. No jockey wheel but still heavy enough. They provided us a pair of triangles on a strap to put on the rear window. That makes it a trailer. No need for tow car or other signs.