Free Member
Mar 28, 2015
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey autograph
Exp
I'm a newbie
Whats the best way to secure our dog when traveling in France? He's a small Cavalier King Charles. I know he can't travel on my knee, can I just secure him via his harness in his bed? Or does he need to be in a pet carrier. How strict are they?

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
Ours travel in harnesses secured to seatbelts. You don't have to use a carrier, they just have to be secured i.e. not loose to move around the vehicle. How you achieve that is up to you.

Dec 27, 2014
Funster No
We use the fabric type carrier available from pets at home.
The good thing about those is they fold flat so very easily stored.
It's excellent and our little dog likes it as it has mesh on all sides so she doesn't "feel" enclosed in it.

image.jpg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Brian_K

Free Member
Feb 9, 2015
Durham
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
I use the table leg on an Autosleeper Symbol, works a treat. Sold it now so going to have to think of something else:

Blue%20in%20van_zpsait2zpgl.jpg

Brian

Dec 27, 2014
Funster No
So is it compulsory for them to be secure?
Not sure of the legalities.
But from a safety point of view.... both for you and the dog.... it makes sense to have the dog restrained.
Something tells me it is compulsory in France to keep an animal "restrained" in transit.

Bailey58

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 23, 2010
Norfolk and Toftir.
Funster No
MH
Sold
Exp
July 2010 (ex tugger)
Don't know about compulsory for pets to be secure but would you want a potential missile flying into the cab in an accident or even sharp braking? Our cavvy sits in her bed behind the cab in a harness secured by a thick lead to a table leg.

Edit: A harness rather than a collar which could strangle her.

Jul 23, 2013
Scotland
Funster No
MH
knaus van ti 600mg
Exp
Getting There since 2013
Thanks I was just wondering if any fines would be issued in places like France ;)

Wildman

Free Member