Diconnecting The Power For The Electric Step ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Kool Kroozer, May 29, 2015.

  1. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Anyone know how i can disconnect the power (which is permanently live) for the electric step ? I am thinking of moving the switch an extra 18" inches away from where its positioned now to a more suitable location (at present we have to open the side sliding door -PVC- more or less all the way to be able to get to the steps switch) Its just a case of extending the wiring - without getting electrocuted :LOL::LOL: Spinney Motorhomes have just informed me that the fuse for the step is on the main board - but its not, i have looked amongst all the fuses and none state they are for the step, i have pulled out fuses for Leisure Battery and Engine Battery and the bloody thing still works :cautious::cautious:
     
  2. mike mcglynn

    mike mcglynn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    6,797
    Location:
    St. Helens MERSEYSIDE
    I dont know your van but on mine its a split charge relay thing next to the engine battery and it also controls the fridge try that my friend.:cool:
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,604
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    easiest thing is to pop the switch out and remove the wires job done be sure to keep them from touching.
     
  4. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    would i not get a shock off them when i try to add more cable to the existing wires so i can extend the switch ?
     
  5. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,071
    Likes Received:
    18,573
    Location:
    New Forest
    No, it's 12 volt. Just keep the wires away from one another and any surrounding metalwork.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  6. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,604
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    you will not feel 12v unless you put your tongue across the two wires.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Thanks so much fellas for taking the time to reply - very much appreciated (y)
    PS: If you don't hear from me again you know your advice didn't work :LOL::LOL::LOL:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  8. Flook

    Flook Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Chelveston, Northants
    Koop Kroozer, how did you get on! We're the Hospital nurses kind to you(y)
     
Loading...

Share This Page