Free Member
May 13, 2019
Funster No
MH
Talbot Express 1300p
Exp
I'm a newbie!
Aloha MHF people,

If you are not already exhausted by answering all of the other threads here, can I please ask for some help?

Last weekend I brought my first motor home, a Talbot Express 1988. She is not glamorous or a real looker, shes a bit tired on the inside but has oodles of potential. The one thing that does need to be fixed/replaced is a cooker and hob. So I have a few questions..

Do people use cookers for meals these days or are there other options?
The vehicle has been fully converted to electric, it seems that this limits our options if we have a plug in hob top - is this true?
Can a 30 year old hob be reconnected to gas easily? Is gas considered dangerous on a camp site?

I'd love to hear all experiences, bear in mind that I am a newbie so do expect silly follow on comments; but I am a fast learner so you should only need to shout at me once :)

safe-happy motoring

Hils and Glenns

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 13, 2015
N Yorks
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 674
Exp
Since 2015
I mainly cook on a gas hob. If we have electric I sometimes use a Remoska or a halogen oven. If the weathers good a BBQ. I don't miss not having a proper oven. Gas should be safe on your van if its fitted correctly.

Upvote 0
Feb 21, 2016
Uk
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2017
When we’re not eating popcorn we use the gas hob every day for kettle and stuff in saucepans. We use the gas oven a few times a week. We don’t have a charcoal bbq,instead we use an outside electric bbq when we are on hook up. Anything hot uses tons of leccie,so that’s why we use it when on site with ehu.
Have fun!

Upvote 0
Jun 29, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
caravan (for now)
Exp
on and off since 1984
30 year old hob may be ok but will need a service and have it checked and connected by a Gas Safe engineer. Or get a single gas burner with its own gas from a camping shop

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon