Compressor fridge or replace dead 3-way? (1 Viewer)

oldieish

Free Member
Feb 13, 2012
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
N+B Flair 7100i
Exp
Since 2012
2002 Flair (for reference). Electrolux RM6505 3-way fridge-freezer seems to have gone the way of all devices. A suite of indecision, starts on gas stops on gas, starts on 12v stops on 12v etc, etc. Probably the now unobtanium PCB.

Input please.

Chap on eBay has some reconditioned f/fs: RM6505, RM7505 and Thetford N150. So replace with like-for-like or fit a 12/240v compressor fridge-freezer? I have no experience of the latter appliance.

Cal54

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 25, 2014
Southport, UK
Funster No
MH
Leisuredrive Renoir
Exp
Since 1996
I have a small compressor fridge in my PVC and really like it - cools better than previous absorption fridges I have had. However I do keep an eye on the power consumption and do on occasions switch it off overnight if batteries are getting low. I have 2 x 100 amp batteries and 2 x 100wt solar panels. No maintenance is another plus point.

Dec 2, 2019
Amersham
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2019
A compressor takes about 30ah per day in summer, and a bit less when it’s cool or winter. Ppl that complain about power with a compressor, is those that don’t have a tailored system to their needs. A compressor takes 1/7th of the energy a absorption uses to cool like for like.

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
Dometic are now producing compressor fridge/freezers in like for like sizing of some of their 3 way absorption fridge/freezers, but much as I would like to
swap out our poor performing 3 way absorption unit for the compressor version, I rather feel that the over £2k asking price is extracting the urine.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012