Complete newbie with a couple of questions.... (1 Viewer)

baxlin

Free Member
Mar 26, 2017
West Herts
Funster No
MH
Just interested
Exp
Not yet
Hi all,

I'm enjoying retirement, and am starting to think that maybe a motorhome might be a good idea, but I've just lost, through attaining age 70, driving licence groups C1 and D1. This means the max MAM weight I can drive is 3,500kg, that's all up weight, including fuel, water, passengers etc.

What would this restrict me to, please, with regard to type of motor home/camper van?

Second question, I note many vehicles are four berth, but only have two seat belted seats. What are the rules for number of passengers?

Apologies if these Q's are too basic, but thanks in anticipation.

Malcolm

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
IMG_0855.GIF
If the MH has 2 belted seats then 2 people can travel. No extra passengers.
Our Ducato 6.3 m panel van conversion for 2 people is just below the weight limit when loaded. If you want anything bigger then you will be looking for a lightweight base such as Hymer

Upvote 0
Dec 23, 2015
Audenshaw
Funster No
MH
Pilote Pacific P650GJ
Exp
Over 6000 miles between 3 March to 26 September 2017.
:pink:, I'm a newbie too, picked up our brand new motorhome three weeks ago. Regarding 3500 kg vehicles the important thing is payload. We have a 2 berth, 4 belted seat moho and our payload is 680kg, which is plenty for us. We actually got it weighed last week, fully loaded for a weekend away apart from food and it came in at 3220 with half a tank of fuel and half fresh water. If you search for the thread "Countdown" on here you will see that Mickey1 bought a new motorhome and found with just himself, fuel and water he was only left with 60kg payload! Don't always believe the manufacturer's payload claims.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp