Choices choices, what to do (1 Viewer)

Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
Okay, first post so be gentle. Had a previous setup on a caravan so not a complete beginner.

I already have a 90 watt panel on my 2013 Hymer Exsis, it’s connected by a morningstar (I think) PWM controller to two 105AH batteries.

I need more as we off grid a lot, so....

I have a 275 watt panel, do I do the following choices.

1, Join them together giving me 365watts then put them through a Victron MPPT to the leisure batteries with a VSR relay to the chassis battery. This means more expense as I will need the VSR relay and a more powerful Victron controller.

2, Use the 90watt panel for the chassis battery, then use a smaller MPPT off the 275watt panel just for the leisure batteries?

Pros and cons of both and any advice is very welcome.

Sep 3, 2012
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
C Class Elddis 175
Exp
8+ years
Thanks, not sure what a vsr relay is but a battery master costing around £15 will do the same job, ie top up the starter battery when the leisure batteries are charged.
On another note I thought that hymers had an electrobloc system that allowed up to a particular wattage solar setup and starter charging built in?

OP
OP
Googlebot
Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
Thanks, not sure what a vsr relay is but a battery master costing around £15 will do the same job, ie top up the starter battery when the leisure batteries are charged.
On another note I thought that hymers had an electrobloc system that allowed up to a particular wattage solar setup and starter charging built in?

Voltage sensitive relay, opens up to charge the chassis battery when a certain voltage is reached.

No idea ref the electroblock, caravans weren’t so complicated. ?

Sep 28, 2015
Kingston upon Hull, East Yorkshire.
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544
Exp
2001 Caravans 2011 Motorhomes