Chevy 7.4 Big block (1 Viewer)

Feb 17, 2021
Funster No
MH
Class A
Hi Everyone.
I am stuck !! I took on a project Chevy P30 Coachman last year for a re-furb a top end engine rebuild. The re-furb is fine but i am stuck with the engine. Apparently the engine overheated and the heads were gone. I purchased the correct heads,new gaskets set(s) and put it back together . All turned fine and smooth apart from a backfire and not starting. One day after messing with the timing,engine backfired loudly,stopped to crank and made a horrible (machine gun )noise which then became an almost metal on metal grinding to a halt noise ?? (almost like a boat that had grounded ?) Luckily it was only on turn over and not running but does anyone have a clue or may have heard similar. I am NOT a mechanic but have limited knowledge. I have started to strip the top end as it seemed the noise was there but any suggestions please ?
Thank you in anticipation .
I'm in Leeds if anyone can help !!

Mar 14, 2021
Scotland, UK
Funster No
MH
C Class
I would suggest the r/chevy sub on Reddit or Pistonheads. Did the engine have oil in it? Was it primed prior to starting so lifters had oil? Have you taken off the oil pan to check for damage and parts? What do the lifters look like? By messing with timing do you mean moving the distributor or altering the camshaft? Did block get machined and if so did pushrods get measured for fit after?
That is just a few but I would go ask experts on Chevy Reddit as they will know exactly how to fix it...they will work better with photos.
Apologies I can't help properly

Upvote 0
OP
OP
C
Feb 17, 2021
Funster No
MH
Class A
I'M hoping so ! . Hopefully when i remove the heads something maybe in there ? Albeit so far it all looks ok ! I am really hoping that it is nothing in the bottom end as i have no idea how to even start with that ! Top end is all quite easy to follow !
Thank you for your help

Upvote 0
OP
OP
C
Feb 17, 2021
Funster No
MH
Class A