Can't get ITV 1 on Free Sat!

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by wingman, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,814
    All,

    I'm plotted up near Windsor at the mo'. FreeSat works perfectly - well almost, because I can't get ITV 1 on the damn thing

    I can get just about every channel in the globe, BBC, ITV 2/3/4 etc but no Chan 1.

    When I googled the problem, it said they have changed their transponder for that particular channel and a fresh search should be done. I don't have the destructions any more for the unit (it's a Maxview).

    Have tried doing what I can, but it says the 'System is Full' whatever that means?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Soozywoozy

    Soozywoozy Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    481
    Location:
    Oxfordshire - edge of the cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +441
    look for the regional ITV's in the list, sorry cant remember the number, eg ITV meridian - they often appear, but the stand alone itv or itv hd doesnt
    worth a shot
     
  3. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,814
    Thanks Soozy'.
    I can see "ITV Central South" on the channel list, but when I select it, it says "No information"

    As I said, I googled the problem, but it says that they have moved the transponder. :mad:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,945
    My guess is you will have to get it to scan again and possibly, given the error message, delete everything it has in its memory first if that doesn't happen automatically when you scan. I can't help as our TV does the tuning for stations, there is no separate box so the distructions will be completely different. Can you Google for instructions for your specific modl?
     
  5. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,358
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +12,019
    The Maxview (unless it's a model I have not seen and something new) Will be "free to air" NOT freesat...
    Therefore the search list of transponders is only as good as when it's made and loaded.. As things change it's standard list of what it searches for will be limited unless there are software updates by the manufacturers or you do a manual search for those channels that have changed..
    A true "Freesat" receiver will always load all that channels that are meant to be supplied..

    As mentioned, maybe re-set the Maxview back to factory setting to clear out everything. Do a fresh re-load of Astra 28 and then you may have to manually search for the missing channel.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,814
    Thanks DBK.
    Got no problem with 'Freeview'. That's integral in the TV and I can get ITV 1 on that ok but the satellite gizmo is more for abroad. The separate box is for FreeSat and that's the problem animal! It won't scan because it says something similar to 'The system is full"

    I've managed to find some instructions, but as usual, it tells you everything that you DONT want to know! It does however tell you that you can return the unit to default and it will default to German! It was however UK purchased :mad:

    I think you may be right; I will have to delete all of the channels and get it to scan (if it will) and start over. Don't want to do that at the mo' because I'm off to Peterborough on Friday.
     
  7. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,358
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +12,019
    Maxview / Aldi / Lidl / Maplins and many others buy from a German company "Comag" and re-brand..
    You often see the receivers in the suitcase camping kits etc. Little help I know but when in doubt and doing any web searches then "Comag" is another option to try..

    http://www.comag.de/en/pro.php?p=98
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,945
    And if you find anything worth watching on ITV 1 please let me know! Or is there a Corrie fan in the family? :D
     
  9. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +13,429
    We have a maxview,use it at home and as you say ITV 1 gone.
    went to menu,installation(dish symbol),single satellite search left it to it and it has put the new ITV on .Now have to get rid of all the rubbish!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,814
    Thanks Tonka for that info. I'll probably wind up buggering the box up and buying a new one! Thanks also @rb62 . Hope I have the same success.

    DBK You're right! Corrie fan in the family and it ain't me!!! Otherwise, ITV isn't bad; for a start, you've got Newzoids on tonight (similar to spitting image).
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. Soozywoozy

    Soozywoozy Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    481
    Location:
    Oxfordshire - edge of the cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +441
    We
     
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,269
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +29,793
    Wingman, come find me at Peterborough and I will have a snoot.. Snould not be a problem at all
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. bertiebasset

    bertiebasset Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    NOTTINGHAM
    Ratings:
    +319
    Better off going down the pub. Let her indoors watch it in the back room whilst you get some down yer neck.
     
  14. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,814
    Thanks all. Sorry for tardy reply. Bin busy and just digesting all the info' that you've given me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page