Battery flat can anybody help ? (2 Viewers)

Aerialmark

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 13, 2018
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Knaus/Weinsburgh
Exp
I'm new to it
Hi
We are currently in northern Spain and have a problem. The cranking battery on the MH has gone flat in a matter of minutes when I plugged into the mains on the campsite. The onboard charger is saying that there is no mains connection when there is, the battery test lights on the panel are showing leisure battery fully charged but cranking battery is in the red and the 12v system ok light is flashing. I have disconnected from the mains but it’s still the same with the main battery. Has anybody any ideas ? . The engine will not now turn over in fact no lights will now come onto the dash and it looks like we will have to call for breakdown assistance.

Campervan_man

Free Member
Jun 24, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Globebus
Exp
If it is a Fiat Ducato check a Midi fuse next to the engine battery hasn't blown. May be that your engine battery has died. Leisure batteries and engine batteries have a finite life, don't last forever { unfortunately }. I always carry a booster 12V pack just in case I cant start the van. I'm hving a new alternator fitted to My Honda CRV today as that has packed in. AA man should have test equipment to check your electrical system. Ask if anyone can start with booster cables ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Aug 5, 2018
Funster No
MH
a
Use the hab battery to jump start the engine if you can find someone with / have a set of jump leads. Then drive to a garage and don't turn it off. Let them investigate the issue before spending any money on parts.
As David says, may be the alternator

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Aerialmark

Aerialmark

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 13, 2018
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Knaus/Weinsburgh
Exp
I'm new to it