Annual cost prior to turning a wheel (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation

Waitforme

Free Member
Nov 14, 2018
Angus Scotland
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Would anyone care to share what they reckon the annual cost is for their MH / PVC ?

I'm not looking at depreciation ( although likely to be biggest chunk) I'm wondering real world figures for servicing / hab check / insurance / AA / and any other annual type costs.
I'm going to try and get a 5 year total cost and see how that works out against how many nights I could hire one for.

Muchas thanks

Kenny.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
For ours, Insurance £390, but will go up by £62 this year I will need to include breakdown cover (currently covered by Fiat), Damp check £60 don't have a habitation check I do that myself. Service by local independent every two years depending on mileage light service £120, full service £240. Only other cost is all the bits & pieces I keep fitting. Spend between 120 to 150 nights away in a year.

Upvote 0

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
I would say £1500 to £2000 per year would cover service and repair MOT insurance and a percentage of major replacement like tyres etc, depreciation is actually minimal as we bought after someone else had lost a chunk of cash.

Martin

I should add our van is on a heavy commercial chassis with 6 wheels so not the cheapest to run.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
D

deleted-member02

Deleted User
£340 insurance & breakdown (combined cover)
£400 servicing, mot & maintenance
£100 habitation (average annual spend on broken bits, do own hab check)
£250 rfl
£50 cleaning products
£000 depreciation, might even be turning a small profit
£1,140 or thereabouts, cam-belt and tyres every few years, so maybe couple hundred each year on top...