@ Adding a second solar panel @

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by stcyr, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. stcyr

    stcyr Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Location:
    Normandie
    Evenin' all.

    We have a 50w panel fitted to the MH at the mo. We have an 80w panel which we removed from our previous van. The idea is to use this 2nd panel as well as the current one.

    Now, does one connect the 2 wires from each panel together into the regulator? Heard conflicting reports on whether the larger capacity panel works at the power of the smaller one - if you get my drift :winky:...

    Many thanks for any info!

    :thumb:
     
  2. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,953
    Likes Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    hi, i link them together on the roof . positive to positive . neg to neg. then just a twin core wire down to the reg. i have two banks of 3 panels . i feed one reg to one end of the bank of batteries the other to the other end and take power out of the middle for inverter and fuse box. hope this makes sense.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,303
    Likes Received:
    15,302
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes just connect them in parallel and you'll have 130watts potential
    When combining panels it is best if they have the same max power voltage for best result but in your situation just do it , if you've determined there is room.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  4. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    South Glos
    You wire them in parallel and you effectively have a 130w panel.

    One thing you will need to check is that the charge regulator will be able to handle the increased charging current. Your 50w panel will produce a maximum of about 3.5 amp and the 130w combined will produce a maximum of around 9 amp (assuming 14.4v op from the panel) I think that is about right. You need to ensure that the regulator you have will handle at least 9 amp.

    If I've got the currents wrong someone will no doubt correct me but the principle is sound - check the regulator can handle the increased load.

    Lunarman
     
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,303
    Likes Received:
    15,302
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Close enough on the safe side :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. stcyr

    stcyr Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Location:
    Normandie
    That's cool, thanks. I have a 'Oscar' 380w/30a which should walk it ...

    :thanks:
     
  7. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,953
    Likes Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    yes easy. i use two 30amp regs . way over the top for my 80wt panels x3 but if a reg went down i could just hook all six panels through one reg.
    well thats my idea . hope it never happens.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    8,159
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,303
    Likes Received:
    15,302
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    That's a good price too! they can be up to £10 a pair :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page