A few winter prep questions... (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
Just draining down fluids etc for our first moho winter and have a few questions...

1. The manual says that you should drain the sink waste pipes which sounds to me like they mean the u-bends. Does anybody really do that?

2. Also the whole thing of de-liming the boiler - do people really bother to do that? What do you use and how often do you do it?

3. Do you put the front wheels on slight ramps so that rainwater runs off? Wouldn't that do tyre damage if you leave it like that for a good while?

4. When you are winter camping - how safe do you feel leaving the heating on all day while you are out? We've got a Truma boiler (C6002?)

Thanks so much for any wisdom!

Andy

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
Hi Andy
1. Remove all liquids where practical. I don't bother with U-traps but do take anything in a glass bottle out. I also open cupboards and turn cushions up to enable a good air flow all around. If there's change of vermin, remove all food and anything that smells (like soap).
2. I've never de-scaled the boiler, but do drain it and turn the pump off.
3. The van probably drains OK as it is. If not, try parking the other way around.
4. Leave the heating on (low).
5. Chill and enjoy. Worry is not for the likes of us.

Spanda

Free Member
Jun 13, 2016
Bolton
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 590 RS
Exp
We don't store ours over winter, we tend to ignore the weather and use the 'van so it isn't an issue as it never stands for more than two weeks. We do drain the water tanks and the boiler though if there is any chance of frost.

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
Do you store your van at home? Ours is on a storage site - so that would mean using a lot of gas...

Sorry if I misinterpreted Q4. I thought you were away in it.