12v Socket Problem

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by RogeTeri, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. RogeTeri

    RogeTeri

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Abrantes, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +141
    I recently had a service on my van and asked if they could fit a 12v socket at the rear of the van so I could set up a TV to watch from bed. They did this and included an aerial socket too.

    A couple of days ago I went to try it out and found that they had junctioned the wiring to the lighting in the van. The outcome of this is that I can only get power to the socket provided the main lights (internal not headlights!), are switched on.

    Now for me that's not the best way to watch TV in bed as I prefer to have the lights switched off! As you may gather from this I'm not much of an electrician, not sure if the fitter was either. I get the feeling that this was a sort of botched up shortcut rather than running an independent connection.

    So my questions are: Should I shut up and watch TV with the lights on? Should I complain about the work and ask it to be rewired? Should I fix it my self,and if so what's the best way to resolve?

    Any offers of advice will greatly be appreciated!
     
  2. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +6,177
    If it were me I would take it back and complain, they will correct the problem.
    You may also want to use the socket to charge your phone/iPad or other device whilst in bed and wouldn't be expected to have the light on then.
    It may be an easy fix and an oversight on their part and all will be solved amicably.
    Please don't suffer in silence and get what you paid for.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  3. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,323
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,739
    Take it back - complain, i recently fitted a 12v socket to the rear of the van along with a Twin USB and voltage display, was pretty easy to do - I just tapped into the 12v supply that went to another 12v socket situated in the middle of the van and ran the wiring behind the walls to the rear - simples
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Take it back but rather than "complain" just explain why the way it is doesn't suit your needs and ask them politely to rewire it.

    D.
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,389
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,853
    Lighting is not suitably sized nor fused to use for power
    So you overload the circuit and find yourself in the dark ? Polite yes but still stupid
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
    Agree with Andy..

    that is a real bodge.. in fact it gives us bodgers a bad name..

    it should be wired with it's own circuit, or to another 12v socket and fused..
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  7. cruiser

    cruiser Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    northampton
    Ratings:
    +3,442
    oh please take it back. on my old m/home they wired up to my rear lights.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  8. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,348
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +48,423
    Good job it wasn't to your reverse lights, you would have had to be going backwards to watch telly. ;):LOL:
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,241
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,507
    I think the final 6 words answer the question..

    If you dont know what you are doing leave it to a grown up. :LOL:

    I would go back and explain the problem....you paid them to do it correctly, and they didnt.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,241
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,507
    Just a thought.....

    They wired in a new aerial point which means they had a route back to the booster or existing aerial point.....which will have a suitable 12v point close by.
    they could have wired the power back to the same 12v point at the same time.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6,833
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Ratings:
    +17,646
    Unless that is from the same place.:D
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  12. RogeTeri

    RogeTeri

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Abrantes, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +141
    Thanks for all your replays. I will give them a ring after Easter. The trouble is we are in portugal and explaining the problem and getting them to agree to put it right.
     
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,131
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,406
    It will be easy ! Portuguese language is EXACTLY the same as English but you have to shout really loud.. Of course all Englishmen know this any way .. It is the same in all countries !! LOL !!

    Seriously though.. Given the job is SO wrong I would be inclined to find someone else to do the job and stay WELL clear of the cowboys who originally did it..
    If they made that big a bodge on what should have been a straight forward job, I would not trust them anywhere near my motor ever again
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  14. cruiser

    cruiser Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    northampton
    Ratings:
    +3,442
    oh dear my lot fell about laughing at the fitter that did mine. then took it straight in and fixed it and put in a outside 12 volt point for free.
     
  15. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,106
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,552
    @RogeTeri
    I've just installed an extra 12v socket via the lighting system BUT it looks like this guy has tapped into the wiring after the switch! That's why the socket is only 'live' when the lights are on.

    I'm not a certified electrician (Certified may be :D) but I know enough. My new socket was only for low amps stuff. It would have been a nightmare for me to run a separate cable to where I wanted my socket, that's why I utilised the cabling already run to the lighting circuit. I guess that's why matey-boy did it that way.

    If you want to remedy this yourself, have a look at what he's done. I'm guessing here that he's used the feed to one of your reading lights???? Or under-cabinet lamps? You would need to 'break' into the circuit on the live side. There will be two 12v cables coming in to the lamp assembly, one of which will 'split' and go to one side of the switch, then out from the other side of the switch terminals to the lamp.

    As others have said; if you don't feel confident, (and depending upon how far the dealership is) just take it back to them.

    James
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. bertiebasset

    bertiebasset Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    NOTTINGHAM
    Ratings:
    +337
    You could always remove the lamps and sit in the dark watching tv.
    Just a thought :D
     
  17. RogeTeri

    RogeTeri

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Abrantes, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +141
    Thanks for that. Sounds a really good idea!!! Or I could just go to sleep and dream I'm watching TV!
     
Loading...

Share This Page