Free Member
May 26, 2017
Essex
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Does anybody still have/use CB Radios in their Motorhomes? Mine has got one in it and I'm deciding whether to leave it in or take it out. I'm planning to spend the summer touring through France and Spain and am wondering if any other MHers are likely to be using CB's en route.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
do i own 1 or more cb radios yes. not used in 10 years in a motorhome though

John & Joan

Free Member
Mar 30, 2010
Darlington
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
10 years this time
UK and EU have a common CB band but the old UK rigs are not on that band. Even some EU/UK rigs are illegal to use outside of the UK.

Only rigs on the CEPT "Harmonised" channels. in the UK to allow the use of Amplitude Modulation (AM) Double-sideband (DSB) and Single-sideband (SSB) transmission on CB radio. As a result many operators are no longer on the FM only frequency.

Rigs produced before 2014 are not allowed to be used outside of the UK. More info http://www.delboyenterprises.co.uk/CB/Legal_CB_Radio.htm

I have a pre 2013 FM CB with the UK/EU CEPT band in the motorhome but it is not used much and 99.9% of the time it is it is quiet.

I am also a Radio Ham and even those frequencies are quiet. I is relatively easy now to get into amateur radio with the introduction of the Foundation Licence. http://rsgb.org/main/clubs-training/for-students/foundation/

John g0fgg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
My CB is in the shed, it's got 40 FM channels and is the 27/81 designation. Are these frequencies still used? I've not had it on since the 1980s

Malcolm Bolt

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 10, 2011
Harrogate
Funster No
MH
old A class
Exp
since 2011
UK and EU have a common CB band but the old UK rigs are not on that band. Even some EU/UK rigs are illegal to use outside of the UK.