LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2017
Nr Bicester
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2019
We only have 2 gas rings in Hymie and no oven and although I'm a reasonably decent cook I do make good use of our oven at home.

We're primarily low carbers which does tend to mean a lot of frying which I'd rather not do in the van in the winter with only the top vents open as greasy smells tend to linger.

We want to be out and about during the winter in Hymie, what would be a good way of cooking healthy meals which are heavy on the protein/fat with plenty of green vegetables? We will probably be 50/50 wilding and on a site with EHU but we don't have an inverter.

Jan 11, 2010
Chester
Funster No
MH
Auto-trail
Exp
Well that`s our 13th year & still loving it.
A remoska and or slow cooker for when you are on EHU, cooking outside even in winter shouldn't be a problem unless the weather is high winds and driving rain, BBQ or external gas rings will keep cooking smells outside.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
OP
OP
Mark and Mindy

Mark and Mindy

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2017
Nr Bicester
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2019
We aren't outdoor cookers, don't have a BBQ at home as we never used the one we had previously and it died of being outside for a long time rather than through overuse, with a small van (5.41m) we're limited on storage space for what extras we can take.

I like the idea of a pressure cooker, not had one myself but remember the one my mum had with one of those massive weights which used to hiss alarmingly. I won't ever forget the pigs head she cooked for soup, I lifted the lid and saw the nose just clearing the top of the liquid, just can't unsee the image of those nostrils!

I did wonder about a Mr D's if I could find somewhere for it be when we're in transit, does anybody use one?

Oct 29, 2016
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp