Wire sizing (1 Viewer)

Dec 12, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks can anybody help me with wire sizing, I'm quite competent with running circuits etc especially domestic 240v.

I can't get my head round all the 12v cable colours and having so many cable sizes. So what I'm proposing to do is wire all my 12v with AUTOMOTIVE 12V 24V STRANDED 2 CORE TWIN THIN WALL
Suitable for use at temperatures up to 105°C.
Cross Section: 2x 0.5mm
Current Rating(amps) - 11 Amps
Overall Dim’ns (mm) - 3.5 x 5.5mm
cable rated to 11amps.

As I have around 30 meters leftover from a previous project

I know this might be a bit heavy for some of my 12v stuff but I can't think of any items that will be near the 11amp. The biggest draw will be the fridge which by my calculations will draw around 6 amps and it will only be on 12v whilst moving.

Can anybody tell me what if any drawbacks to using this size of wire

Thanks

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
You say cross section so is that diameter or area? seems a bit skinny either way to me though, too much voltage drop.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Can anybody tell me what if any drawbacks to using this size of wire
Totally unsuitable for your planned use.

For a start thin walled auto cable size includes the insulation so 0.5mm sq is not 0.5 mm sq it's a fair bit smaller.
Fridges normally draw 10 to 15 amps and when working out the cable size you need to take into account the length of the cable run. It's normally recommended to have a volt drop of less than 3 % I prefer to aim for 2 %.

So for a 4 metre run of cable carrying a current of 10 amps you would need a cable size of 6 mm sq.
For 7m you would need 10 mm sq.

Calculator here:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:
Dec 2, 2019
Amersham
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2019