wi fi in france

Discussion in 'Motorhome Accessories' started by sean n maggie, May 4, 2014.

  1. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    have got a 3 modem that works great in UK,,but will it workin france ? if not what do you all use please ?:Sad:
     
  2. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,104
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +43,879
    I have an SFR mifi when I am in France, good coverage, but dont use it to watch TV eats bandwidth...

    There are a lot of funsters who know a lot more than I...They will be along soon...
     
  3. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,102
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,904
    Do you really mean wifi, or do you mean mifi? If the 3 modem works on the 3 network then the answer is yes it will work, but it will cost you a fortune in data charges.
     
  4. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    what is best to use ??? it works through 3 network and we just use for lap top....:Sad:
     
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,927
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +15,102
    get the modem or the mifi unlocked then you can choose a sim to suit the country you are visiting. that way it avoids massive bills for data roaming

    just a point though, the old usb plug in dongle modems are very slow compared to using a mifi and another benefit is you can use it as a hotspot for multiple devices including laptops, phones and tablets. all can connect simultaneously just as you would at home

    the best deals for european sims at the moment seem to be 3Euro per day paid only on days you use them
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,102
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,904
    A EuropaSim - 3 Euros per day for 500Gb per day. And you only pay on the days you use it. Can be used all over Europe. www.motorhomewifi.com. Be quick, they only have a few left
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. chrissyvine

    chrissyvine

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +57
    Look for an Unlocked Mi-fi in the UK (believe Motorhome Wi-fi sell them). Not cheap, around £60/70 but you can then buy a sim in whichever country you are visiting, inclluding UK. I wish I'd known this before I came abroad as I bought a French Orange mi-fi and then a Spanish one and now, in Portugal I have a TMN dongle !!!:cry:
     
  8. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +490
    Now that would be a good deal! ;) I'm sure you meant 500MB/day :thumb:

    You can get your Three MiFi unlocked, but if you do make sure you know how to manually configure the APN settings since this will be required for foreign SIM's and the EuropaSIM if you consider it.

    Three MiFi's usually carry branded firmware (the operating system) which can sometimes make this tricky. However once unlocked there is some info here that might help:
    http://www.wizadora.com/e5331.pdf

    All the best,

    Adam
     
  9. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,286
    Just got my europasim. It's working fine, in fact I'm using it now, even though I'm at home. The signal is only 1bar but the speed is good.:Smile:
    Quite chuffed with my purchase. I only bought the sim as I already have an unlocked Huawei E5332.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Voyger1010

    Voyger1010

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +285
    Huawei E5332 Unlocked Mobile Wi-Fi Modem from amazon and a Mobi-data sim which give Europe and world coverage see http://mobi-data.co.uk/eu-coverage.php
    Seems to work very well and can connect up to 8-10 devices, as the modem acts as a hotspot, so really great for laptop , kindle etc:Smile:
     
  11. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    bought one the other day with europa sim,,,,80 odd quid for both,,,,it arrived on tuesday......:thumb:
     
  12. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,102
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,904
    Not sure I have got this right, but it seems that they charge 15p per Mb when you are abroad. Is that correct? If so it could turn out very expensive.

    Also do they allow tethering on their SIMs please.
     
  13. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +490
    Don't forget you can manually change mobile networks with the EuropaSIM. Simply turn off automatic connection (and make sure the E5332 is in a disconnected state) and then enable Manual Network selection. You can then connect to any network not listed as 'forbidden'. :thumb:
     
  14. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    thanks,,,just got to get my sim registerd now then i will be up and running,,,just need to find out how to register it.....:Smile:
     
  15. estcres

    estcres

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +766
    Find a local café/bar with free WiFi and use that.

    That's what we did in Spain last year.
     
  16. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,286
    The advantage of the Huawei E5332 over some of the others is that it has an external aerial socket. I purchased a directional antenna for it from ebay for around a tenner which boosts the signal considerably if its a bit borderline.
     
  17. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,286
    I have set mine up as per your instructions provided with the SIM, ie manual connection and APN set to mobile.vodafone.it.
    I assume it will automatically use the strongest signal, so please what is the advantage of manually selecting the provider?
     
  18. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +264
    You might find one signal is stronger, but another has better backhaul and gives you a much better service in a particular location. How many times on your phone have you got full bars, but don't seem to be able to squeeze any bytes down the line?
     
  19. Voyger1010

    Voyger1010

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +285
    The modem with the data-sim in it acts as a personal hotspot and you can connect up to 10 wireless devices( laptops , kindle etc)
    Interestingly I found this

    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/mobile-phone/3364292/roaming-data-pre-paid-sim-cards-explained/

    which makes interesting reading especially as they are supposed to be capping roaming charges in Europe in July.
    In answer to your other 15p question you will find these comparison pages helpful

    http://mobi-data.co.uk/eu-saving.php
    http://mobi-data.co.uk/world-wide-saving.php
    Anyway I hope this is useful.:Smile:
     
  20. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,104
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +43,879
    As a side issue, when does the new EU regulations come in about roaming charges?
     
Loading...

Share This Page