What do you use to charge your batteries on hook up? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I've not really looked into this as much as I have researched solar and battery to battery chargers. I may be interested in fitting one "just in case". I don't plan to use many sites or hook up but would be nice to have if, for some reason, I'm unable to charge via solar or B2B or find myself on a site with hook up or using sites more than I thought I would.

From what I understand you want something called an intelligent multistage charger? Are these different to trickle chargers?

What do you guys use or what do you recommend a good value one for occasional use?

Cheers! ⚡

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
You need an 'intelligent' mains charger for EHU. These are much more than a triple charger. You'll need one that respects the chemistry of the habitation battery bank you intend to use (Wet/AGM/Gel/Lion). Get one with capacity to charge at least the size of battery back you intend to install.
You are right to consider adding a mains charger. It's a much cheaper source of power than B2B and more reliable and effective than solar.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Hook up does charge the batteries.

Hi glenn2926.

In a self build I will need to put something in between where you plug in the power lead from the camp site hook up into my van and my batteries. Something like this, I think? But I'm not sure.

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
You need an 'intelligent' mains charger for EHU. These are much more than a triple charger. You'll need one that respects the chemistry of the habitation battery bank you intend to use (Wet/AGM/Gel/Lion). Get one with capacity to charge at least the size of battery back you intend to install.