Van Conversion Beginner (Peugeot Boxer 2006) (1 Viewer)

Blackjack01

Free Member
Jul 24, 2016
Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

I'm a newbie to these forums and motorhomes in general, I was fortunate enough to borrow a Fiat Ducato motorhome and travel for approx 7 weeks around Europe, I loved every minute of it. I've since been looking for a van I can convert as I can't afford to buy a motorhome.
I've since purchased a Peugeot Boxer LWB 2006 Reg and in the first day of planning the layout etc, I've briefly read the DVLA guidance document, in order for the van it has to meet certain minimum requirements, one of which states:-
"A bed, which has a minimum length of 1800mm or 6 feet. This can be converted from seats used
for other purposes during the day but must be permanently fixed within the body of the vehicle".
I've measured the inside of the van which currently has ply lined but measures approx 1780mm across at the widest point.

My question is:- I would like my bed to go across the back of the van, does anyone know how to overcome this issue, as I will want to insulate, and ply line the inside?

The van isn't that long internally so I don't really want to have the bed going long ways.

Any feedback would be much appreciated....Thanks

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
The ply lining is probably 'straight', whereas when you re-do it you can go into the curves more to get the extra length for the bed at the widest point which is usually somewhere approx 1/3rd of the height from the van floor.

Sep 22, 2013
Halifax
Funster No
MH
Relay self-build
Exp
Trainee MH owner