Truma heater run time without EHU (1 Viewer)

Jan 11, 2018
Malvern Link, Malvern, UK
Funster No
MH
Chausson Welcome 85
Exp
Since 2018
Hello Funsters.
In the process of buying a Chausson Welcome 85 with a Truma 'gas only' blown air heater.
The van has a brand new 100ah leisure battery.
How long in general will the heating run without EHU or starting thevengine to charge the leisure battery?
ImI gessing here that the Truma will have a start up current draw of say 3a but then should run at about 1.5a continously.
At 40% depth of discharge this would give me say 20 or 24hrs.
Does this dound about right?
I know it looks like I have answered my own question but I have no experience of vans yet and would welcome your knowledge and experience.
Thank you.

Deleted User
Can't really answer your question because it is a little like asking how long is a piece of string. Your figures may be accurate for continuous running but the heater will click on and off to maintain the set internal temp, the period and length of time the heater stays on will depend greatly on the 2 main variables ie set inside temp and ambient outside temp plus of course the quality of insulation and the internal volume of the motorhome.

Upvote 0
Oct 29, 2008
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
since 2008
Depends on, model, temperature, thermostat setting, size of van etc. And if its been connected to the power with thick enough leads.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Zigisla

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 24, 2015
Gosport, Hants
Funster No
MH
Sunlight A72
Exp
Getting better month by month.
You must also take into consideration what else is running. Fridge, Lights, TV, Pumps etc. These will probably be the time limiting factors not the heating.

Upvote 0

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007