The new boy - seat bely help required please (1 Viewer)

Hurricane J

Free Member
Jun 22, 2020
Funster No
MH
Looking to buy now
Exp
I'm a newbie
Good evening all, i hope this finds you well. Many thanks for approving my registration.

We have hired a motorhome a couple of times and now feel it's time to take the plunge.

Have been looking at a couple of "Swift Bolero 712SB" 2013 and 2015 models and have a query regarding the number of seat belts legally required.

The layout of this model appears to suit what we are looking for and prefer the 2 side facing double seats, behind the driver/passenger seats so we can make up the dining table easier.

Our understanding is this layout "does not" allow for any seat belts on the passengers seats, and they cannot be retro fitted. Our reading of the legalities are this layout is a 4 berth but can only legally carry 2 people when moving?

In principle we are fine with this as it will most likely only be my wife and i who are using it, however i am afraid that it may be less attractive to a family when we go to sell it. Could it also be that if legislation changes in the future it won't comply?

Any feedback on the legislation, proposed change of legislation, saleability etc would be appreciated.

Given we are just dipping our toe in the water we are slight reluctant to spend more that c. £35,000 - £40,000 initially.

In addition, the "front facing" passenger seats don't really suit us.

PS..i am 6'4" so the easier the layout the better

Kind regards

Alistair

OP
OP
H

Hurricane J

Free Member
Jun 22, 2020
Funster No
MH
Looking to buy now
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for that M-J, any concerns about the seat belts? Just wondered how we stood if carrying passengers w/o seatbelts in the event of an accident

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000