Telly through my laptop

Discussion in 'Computers' started by TDH, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. TDH

    TDH Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    Powys/Shropshire border
    Ratings:
    +338
    I'm sure I remember reading in a thread lately about watching TV channels via broadband. Can anybody point me in the right direction please, or give me any info about how it works?

    Thanks.
     
  2. bald eagle

    bald eagle Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi TDH
    Try zattoo online tv
    Hope this helps:thumb:

    regards
    bald eagle:thumb:
     
  3. wildbri

    wildbri Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. tonybrightspark

    tonybrightspark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,057
    Watch out if you are on a dongle though, they eat data!

    Peter
     
  7. nicklb

    nicklb Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +0
    You know that you can buy a usb dongle that recieves freeview free of charge and some will even record tv!:RollEyes:
     
  8. June and Mike

    June and Mike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    In the beautiful fens
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi :Smile: ive just bought a wintv usb dvb-t on ebay, i havent received it yet,it has good reviews, ive researched that i can connect an ariel into the usb and i can watch and record live tv on my laptop, i`ll let you know if it works :thumb:
     
  9. Hopesy

    Hopesy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    South Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    bought one of these gadgets from aldi for a small fee. the small aeriel it comes with is pretty useless but i use one the loop aerials and get excellent results.
     
  10. welsh winger

    welsh winger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Sunny Swansea
    Ratings:
    +58
    we had probelms with Virgin cable this week, it looked like the other half would get withdrawl systoms not being able to watch eastenders, I went to BBC i player and she got her fix, I understood it to be a catch up channel but no you can watch the programmes at the set time, ITV has it own service which works as well.

    Not tried them with a dongle but I will when funds allow.

    Nick
     
  11. oddjob

    oddjob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Cleveleys Nr Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. TDH

    TDH Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    Powys/Shropshire border
    Ratings:
    +338
    Thanks for all of those helpful posts. Yes, I was worried about the security of some of the sites - I wondered who had used what.

    I'll push on - thanks to everybody.

    T
     
  13. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    Ratings:
    +17
    :Cool: I have one. It works a treat and works in Spain too. :thumb:
     
  14. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    Ratings:
    +17
    :Smile: I have used the PAYG Three Dongle in the UK and it works OK. BUT, it does use a lot of your allowance. :Blush:
     
  15. RichyB

    RichyB Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Staffs UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    TV on laptop

    I use WinTV by Hauupage. You buy the usb dongle which has an ariel connection on the end of it. Install the software using the supplied disc. Then, using the comupter, scan for the tv channels (its an autoscan thing). It picks up all of the usual freeview channels. But like any TV, it needs a good ariel reception. Dongle doesn't cost much, but get the very latest digital model, may need to shop around.
     
Loading...

Share This Page