Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
Our fridge has had a developed a mind of its own. On electric hook up the fridge works. When we're unplugged and running on gas, the fridge works. When I start the engine, which I assume is when the fridge switches to 12v, the fridge doesn't work. No lights, nothing at all.

I don't know if this helps, but we have been parked in the same spot for four days without an electric hookup apart from a short period when I plugged in to our suitcase generator. The batteries dropped to a level this morning that cut the heating, the fridge and the lights out. I ran the generator for two hours today to recharge the batteries. Everything seemed fine until I started the engine this evening to move to the aires water point and noticed the fridge not working.

Any ideas?

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
Not telling you how to suck eggs here but have you checked the fuses?

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Stuck relay?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

RogerThat

LIFE MEMBER
May 20, 2016
North West
Funster No
MH
PVC
Another silly question, it is a three way fridge isn't it? And not just a two way?

Did it ever work on 12v before?

Munchie

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 28, 2007
Camping Les Vigeres
Funster No
MH
Font Vendôme
Exp
Since 2004
On ours the spade connector at the back of the fridge had worked loose. Hope yours is as simple!

Tincataylor

Free Member
Jul 9, 2012
Devon
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Never leave a campsite with your clothes line tied to a lamp post.
If your fridge is the same as ours then it is not designed to run on 12V when the vehicle is stationary. There is a sensor that only allows it to run when the vehicle is travelling in excess of 5mph. When the vehicle is stationary, i.e when you are camped, then it runs on either hook up or gas as yours seems to do without problem.