Some advice please for September trip (1 Viewer)

Moragm

Free Member
Jun 2, 2014
HATTON PETERHEAD
Funster No
MH
Lunar Premier
Exp
I'm a newbie
As we only have 2weeks holiday and live near Aberdeen we are taking the Newcastle to Amsterdam ferry the last week of September. We would be grateful for any advice on routes/ places to visit etc. Would it be too far to travel to Czech Republic? Any suggestions welcome. Thanks

bluemog

Free Member
Feb 11, 2012
Aberdeen
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
3 years
We live in Peterhead and have also used the Newcastle ferry. We go away for 8/9months at a time now and trundle down to Portugal for the winter but when we used to just have 2 weeks holiday we would go to Germany and take our time travelling the Mosel and Rhine or the Hartz Mountains .....all gorgeous! I would find going to the Czech Republic in 2 weeks a bit of a rush (but certainly could be done) and you'd miss out on such a lot and feel the need for a holiday when you got home.

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
We will be on the Newcastle Ferry on the 21st of September, heading to Berlin for the week which is a lovely city if you haven't visited.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
Depends on how far you're prepared to drive in a day. German autobahns are of a similar quality to our motorways, and not being toll roads they're about as busy. Assume an average speed of 50mph and you wouldn't be far wrong. I'd be thinking in terms of 3 overnight stops after leaving the ferry before getting to somewhere like Prague, and most of the days would be spent driving.

jumartoo

Funster
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 19, 2015
Alhama de Murcia, Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994