Free Member
Jul 2, 2017
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Having been considering it for a while, read plenty and lurked on this forum soaking up the information, we've just taken the plunge and bought a used Ci Carioca 656. One thing we amazingly didn't notice is that its fitted with a solar panel and controller, which we are chuffed with because its one item we were thinking of adding.

Anyway, I'm not entirely sure how it works and what the LEDs mean even after reading a manual online..Its a PWM EPHC solar charge controller. Could anyone with the same unit give me an overview of whats happening when the LEDs light or extinguish and crucially, what the actual on/off button does?

Thanks - this forum has been an absolute mine of useful information.

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
Hi
It might be worth putting a picture up of the controller that you have, that way even if somebody doesn't have the same controller they'll be able to identify the question you're asking (y)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
AABM

AABM

Free Member
Jul 2, 2017
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for your responses so far, here is a photo of the unit. I've checked voltages and the panel is generating along with charging the battery (I assume as there is roughly 14.4v going out, input voltage dependant on sun) but I can't fathom the 'on/off' what it does, what it's for and whether I should have it on or off!

Attachments

• IMG_6075.JPG
    IMG_6075.JPG
    127.1 KB · Views: 60
Upvote 0
Apr 22, 2013
Cotswolds
Funster No
MH
Bailey Approach 625
Exp
Since 2011
Left hand LED is indicating panel is suppling power.
Middle LED is as diagram of battery
Flashing green - Battery full
Green - battery in usable range
Yellow - Battery (very) low
Red - Battery knackered.
The third LED is for when you have a load connected to the controller which you haven't. Off is fine.​

Upvote 0

Camping Gaza

Free Member
May 7, 2016