Nov 4, 2018
Royal Wootton Bassett
Funster No
MH
Roller Team Hi-Line
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,

We have not long bought our motorhome (which is still currently being built) and I have been looking into pulling a car on the back.

I intend on going away for the duration of the summer as I am teacher, so having a small car handy would be great. I don't want to pull a trailer and I am away there are some countries you can't pull a car on an A-Frame - I shall just avoid those ;-).

After visiting some car dealerships there appears to be some different opinions and they have said not to do this to a car. Ford said the KA+ is good for it and it does not clock up the miles as the car is not actually on? Smart said they do not recommend it at all as this can damage the gearbox should it go out of neutral which is not unheard of (then would need a new gear box). Fiat said the 500 would need to be pulled backwards?

Any help is appreciated.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
there are plenty of cars that can be towed, but it is illegal in some countries around europe

Upvote 0

Eggs

Free Member
Jan 3, 2018
Suffolk
Funster No
I'm a teacher, and I am away!..

I'm sure autokerong got in your way, but..... come on.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I think your biggest problem with Europe is its allegedly illegal in France, Spain and Germany.
Apart from not leaving much of western Europe it really doesn't leave any entry points into Europe from the UK.
OK, there's Belgium, Holland and Portugal... Then where you going to go?

As for automatics.... Unless its a true torque converter auto I can't see a problem.
Most of the small cars are robotised manual gearboxs

Not clocking the miles....