Planning to buy but need a good reference book please (1 Viewer)

Toby Wan

Free Member
Jul 20, 2017
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Preparing to buy
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, my wife and I are in our mid-late 50's and enjoy travelling but have had enough of pitching tent/ striking tent every 3 or 4 days plus food storage issues as she has a food allergy so are planning to buy a small motor home to sleep 2 (must have a toilet but shower is optional). I'd like to ensure I'm prepared before buying so I'd be grateful if members could recommend a good reference book that tells me : what I need to check before buying, what I need to do before setting off, how to hook up electric in the UK and mainland Europe, gas safety, dealing with waste water, what to do when returning home and then closing up for the winter months to reduce the risk of issues in the Spring.

We are hoping to get to the Malvern show in August 2017 to get ideas of suitable 'vans. Any buying tips gratefully received.

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009
Hello and welcome :WelcomeFlag: best £15 you will spend for help advice and banter joining here but we used this book as a reference when buying our first van. Good luck .
image.jpeg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

grumps147

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 6, 2010
St.Helens
Funster No
MH
Between
Exp
MH 12 yrs -Tent/Caravan 49 years
Agree with the above and Jim's book, additionally you then have two more resources (1) the search function, for those things you may want to know, just about everything is in here somewhere, and (2) the ability to ask unlimited questions of members if you can't find what you want in a search.

:welcome4:

Last edited:
OP
OP
T

Toby Wan

Free Member
Jul 20, 2017
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Preparing to buy
Exp
I'm a newbie