Free Member
Jan 15, 2017
Croydon
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi I'm new looking to bye a motor home and travel round England and Europe in my retirement next year any advice would be appreciated thanks

Nov 4, 2011
Uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Try hiring before you buy, so you can get an idea of lay-out that suits you.
Also if planning long trips, think about a fixed bed or drop down bed because making the bed every night could be a lot of hassle.

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
IMG_0598.JPG
The forum is full of great advice. Just ask the Qs or use the search box to find most answers.

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
Differing advice here. (we are all different) i would make a few lists of 1) absolute necessary, 2) really desirable 3) think i want this

1) diesel, RHD, less than 3,500 kilo fixed bed 4 berth captains chairs, dry FSH (UK model)
2) rear kitchen, garage, solar, gaslow, less than 20K on clock, overhead bed (shall i put generator here or will that start an argument)
3) leather interior, bike rack, less than 3 years old, white, (Trump sticker will definitely start an argument)

Then i would start looking around ebay gumtree autotrader and make a list of what vans hit the mark. During this time i would expect your list to get bigger and change because now youre wondering whether you need a big fridge freezer or not and the new truma heater or will the 3000 suffice and what is a gas tank that goes underneath? do i need my habitation door on the left? If i buy a Ford will it get stolen ? Electric steps - are they another thing that can go wrong? Where do i fit my microwave? Is there enough space on the roof for a satellite so i can watch eastenders?

Then you can put yourself in a position to go and speak with dealers and have some form of knowledge. Make yourself a cash buyer.