Navigating abroad (1 Viewer)

Apr 24, 2019
Solihull
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
When I last visited Europe I owned a Garmin sat nav. Accompanied with the aires/stellplatz book and a map I navigated around entering lat/long etc.

Without using loads of data etc, what do people use now? My partner has a European Garmin but that doesn't have any way of coordinates in.

Thank you

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
You can search by place name or address in a sat nav.
I’ve rarely felt the need to enter Lon/lat coordinates.
What’s the advantage?

You could create a new waypoint on most/all sat navs & enter Lon/lat there.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Slimalex
Apr 24, 2019
Solihull
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
Have you tried the " What3Words" app on a smart phone or tablet ?, you can zoom into where you want to go, get the 3 word code and go. It uses Google maps and accurate to 3 mtrs. Works all over Europe and beyond.
I've used what 3 words when a tree landed on and wrote off the vehicle I was driving. Thank you, though

OP
OP
Slimalex
Apr 24, 2019
Solihull
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
You can search by place name or address in a sat nav.
I’ve rarely felt the need to enter Lon/lat coordinates.
What’s the advantage?

You could create a new waypoint on most/all sat navs & enter Lon/lat there
In the past the aires book had lat/long coordinates so I used that to find the place more accurately.

Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
In EU post codes dont cut it , so they use lat long , Garmin satnavs (well every one I've ever owned)have the facility to use various lat long types , its not always intuitive on where you get to enter them . It pays to check you are using correct type as using wrong one can put you out by quite a long way .

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie