Looking for combined 4G/WiFi booster solution (1 Viewer)

Jan 20, 2020
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Eura Mobil A770HS
Exp
I'm a newbie
I’m looking to purchase a motorhome with a view to spending long weekends in it thoughout the year. I work from home in IT and the goal is to be able to work from wherever I am in the motorhome providing I have a satisfactory internet connection.

I’m aware of the many MiFi (4g) and WiFi booster (i.e. using campsite or local amenity wifi) systems but I’m really looking for a more elegant combined system that enables you to switch between 4g and local WiFi depending on availability and signal strength/quality. I’m aware that this would still entail a requirement for two separate roof mounted aerials, one to connect to local Wifi and one for 4G.

Is anyone aware of any such system?

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Surely once you have the kit installed your device will see both WiFi signals so switching is simply telling your device which to use?

Upvote 0

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
The Netgear Aircard 810 I have recently bought can automatically switch from mobile data to a WiFi hotspot if it finds one.

https://kb.netgear.com/30620/How-do-I-set-up-the-WiFi-Offload-feature-on-my-NETGEAR-AirCard-810

1579776973155.png

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Upvote 0
Jan 27, 2018
Aberdeenshire
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
I use my 4g phone signal to tether my laptop and tablet, extremely rare not to get a brilliant 4g signal with EE. Never yet used up my monthly 60gb allowance which costs me £20 month including calls.

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp