Leisure battery - 12V help please! (1 Viewer)

Brian TE1300P

Free Member
Jan 14, 2019
Funster No
Hello!
We have just bought our first Motorhome, been out twice in it and LOVE IT!
We hooked up once on a site and went wild camping second time.
Hook up was all fine, but I wanted to ask about using the leisure battery as I'm a complete novice and would like some help!
Is this correct - on hook up, you can use everyday appliances as normal as its essentially like being plugged into the mains, however when just on the leisure battery, you can only run appliances which are suitable to be run off 12 volts?
If so, does this mean I have to go and buy a load of new appliances or is there some way of converting the current ones so they will work. I'm thinking things like a kettle, oil filled radiator, TV, charging phones etc.
If we can run these off the leisure battery, how long would you expect the battery to last whilst running these appliances?
Many thanks in advance. We are hoping for many happy years of motorhoming!
Cheers

Brian

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
Gas Kettle, gas heating, 12v phone charging, 12v TV.....this will enable you to camp off grid,.
check the size of the leisure battery, measured in amp/hours....divide your power requirements in to this to give you a rough guide how long your battery will last, a solar panel will replenish some of your drain, as will driving between stops.

Upvote 0
Apr 22, 2018
Herts.
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral lowline
When not plugged onto the mains, you can only use 12v equipment. Or you could use an inverter, but they kill batteries, and aren’t power sensible.
Things like MoHo TVs are 12v, charging phones etc can all be off the 12v. Kettle use the gas. Heater in MoHo runs on gas and 12v.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012