Inverter / Lithium battery question (1 Viewer)

Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
In the (house)garage not fitted yet I've got a dometic freshwell 3000 AC unit

designed to be fitted in a cupboard, with pipes running into the van to cool the hab area

for a crazy amount of money you can buy a suitable inverter to power it while driving , as I understand the instructions it runs off 12V which is supplied by the battery via the mains hookup charger

Now I see this , I know it's a crazy number for a battery and I wouldn't consider it at that money but , as it says it's capable of supplying 4000w would the alternator be powerful enough to keep that topped up while on the move to power the AC or am I thinking pie in the sky
Screenshot 2021-07-08 at 17-01-57 NEW - 12V 400Ah LiFePO4 — Roamer Lithium Batteries.png

Tombola

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 21, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8094DF
Exp
Since 2004
If you have a suitable battery being charged by a b2b while driving then in theory yes no problem.
Depends how much energy it draws whether it will be worth it. Cant be much more than a fridge can it ? my fridge pulls about 13a from the battery when it kicks in, I have a 200ah lithium and works ok, leave me anywhere between 30-50% for the next day if set on low and as long as sunny or driving(b2b) keeps me going.

When stopped, I imagine with the 400ah battery should be plenty for a day or 2, even if it was run via 230v on an inverter.

Truma have a range too, this si a smaller version with power consumtions just 4a or less
https://www.jacksonsleisure.com/car...hir-compact-under-bench-air-conditioning-unit

Last edited:
OP
OP
W
Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks tombola