'Import tax' within EU? (1 Viewer)

Oct 12, 2009
SW London, Poland and all Europe
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Arto 69GL
Exp
Since 2009
I have been researching the possibility of Re-registering our MH in Poland.

I anticipated being required to prove that VAT had been paid in UK on initial sale, but to my surprise I found that re-registering would incur an 'Excise tax' of 18.6% of the value.

What happened to 'Free movement of Goods'?

This has nothing to do with Brexit, as when we checked on our car purchase of a secondhand car from Germany 2-3 years ago we found the importing dealer provided proof of the tax having been paid, albeit at a much lower rate than 18.6%, which is charged on vehicles with engines over 2lt.

I welcome others' experience of re-registering an EU VAT-paid car in another EU country and any tax requirement.

Geoff

klaatu

Free Member
Aug 10, 2013
Vienne, France
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
Since 2014
I have no experience to offer, but my guess is that this isn’t an import tax, it’s a tax that has to be paid on any Polish registered vehicle. Your vehicle wasn’t purchased in Poland, so that tax hasn’t been paid yet.

klaatu

Free Member
Aug 10, 2013
Vienne, France
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
Since 2014
There are a number of documents on the web which confirm that there is an excise duty on all Polish registered cars of 3.1% up to 2 litres engine size, and 18.6% over 2 litres.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
In all EU countries vehicles are treated differently to goods and individual country taxes apply. e.g. UK, France, Germany and many other countries you just have to pay the VAT in the country it is registered but Holland for example has a vehicle tax of 21% plus 21% VAT, making 46% tax payable.

Xabia

Free Member
Jan 20, 2011
Rural Nottinghamshire and Spain
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp