Hiring out my private motorhome (1 Viewer)

stephennn

Free Member
Nov 2, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi
I am very keen to buy a motorhome, 4 berth with fixed bed. I'd love a newbuild but the wife would never sign off on the cost, a 10year old circa £15k maybe she would.
Either way, is it possible to cover costs for a loan + storage by renting it out? I can ask the websites that do it all for me but I'd get a very biased answer and I'd prefer to get feedback from anyone who has had some experience.

thanks

Jun 29, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
caravan (for now)
Exp
on and off since 1984
Hi firstly welcome, now your budget looks a bit low for a 10 year old. Secondly the hire business is full of problems, insurance, drivers not used to a large vehicle, users who do not know how to work everything, to name a few. I'm sure there are posts on here about the subject so have a look but be careful.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 12, 2010
Bury St Edmunds, West Suffolk
Funster No
MH
Weinsberg Cara
Exp
since 2007
Before you make any decisions, check out things like insurance costs, I did once and it put me right off renting. That’s before the clients treat your van in a deplorable way. There are companies which rent out your van as well for a commission, I have heard many horror stories about these as well.
Phil

SuperMike

Free Member
Apr 28, 2010
St Albans
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Sightseer
Exp
11yrs, but many years a tugger.
If you rent, and the vehicle returns with damage (very possible) or a fault (possible) then you have nothing to hire out until It’s fixed and therefore could possibly be letting down your next hirers and they would not be best pleased. :gum:

Jul 6, 2009
Funster No
I spent over ten years maintaining a fleet of hire vans. Having seen what happens to them please don’t.