Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Oct 3, 2022
Swindon, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer BMC- i 680
Exp
I’m a newbie
Just putting together the spec for a new Hymer. Is it worth including a GRP roof? Thanks

Jun 23, 2017
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis T - 588
Exp
Since 2004
Just putting together the spec for a new Hymer. Is it worth including a GRP roof? Thanks
We included the GRP option when we specced ours - in Germany I don't think you can get insurance without. You could argue that we don't get the same sort of regular hailstorms that they do in mainland Europe and that if there was damage insurance in the UK would cover the damage. My take is that I would much prefer not to make any vehicle insurance claims unless the sum involved was very significant and the GRP cover might help avoid this.

My only reservation now is that the sheet only covers the flat part of the roof so if the curved part where it joins the vertical is aluminium as well, hail damage could still occur on this area. There is also the extra weight which impacted payload.

Would I tick this box again? Possibly not.

Upvote 0
Dec 31, 2010
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
This has a GRP roof but didn't save it.

Edit: forgot to say the roof was fine 😂

Malibu Body repair5.jpg

Malibu Body repair3.jpg
Malibu Body repair2.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Our current Hymer has a GRP roof as standard it's not a roof as such just a sheet of 2mm GRP stuck on the flat part of the roof.

Our last Hymer was a Exis I 678 the GRP roof was an option we had it. It added 30 kg to the weight and €650 to the cost.
Not impressed with it, 4 or 5 sheets of 2mm GRP stuck on with 5mm gaps between them with sealant in the gaps that goes manky.