Google Chrome

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Snitrats, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Ratings:
    +213
    Anyone else been having problems with Google Chrome not loading over the past few days, or is it me ?
     
  2. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,300
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,230
    not right now but in the past yes, what I had to do was clear all cookies and bingo, normality restored:thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,353
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +93,373
    Chrome is my choice of Browser at the mo, it seems to be the fastest right now, not yet experienced any problems on the mac version.
     
  4. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,292
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +26,444
    My choice too, working fine on desktop and Lappy. Time I cleared the cache though thanks for the reminder....Griff
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9,360
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +20,533
    No problem for me, its not possible for any browser to be slower than my BT broadband :Angry::Angry:
     
  6. Road Runner

    Road Runner

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +1,459
    I like it a lot and working well at present....

    I followed our leader (he who must be respected) recommendation a while ago and well pleased:Smile:
     
  7. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Ratings:
    +213
    Seems that if I restart, It comes back to life again!::bigsmile:
     
  8. callumwa

    callumwa

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Ratings:
    +4,520
    Working fine for me......

    Callum:thumb:
     
  9. motorhomer

    motorhomer Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +323
    I gave up on Chrome.

    I have an old (version 5) copy of Photoshop elements, and after lots of problems I eventually worked out that elements will not work if Chrome is installed. Uninstalling chrome fixed my problems with Elements. Must be some shared components / dlls that conflict. My other option would have been to pay for a later version of elements.

    Otherwise chrome looked good!
     
  10. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
    Yes its you:roflmto:
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,350
    No probs on mine.. Chrome rocks :thumb:
     
  12. reader

    reader Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    IO83rk
    Ratings:
    +76
    Chrome is getting better and faster with each update, which takes place seamlessly without any big deal or announcement or your knowing unlike IE
    This applies to all os's and not just windows.

    That said the next version of Firefox (9) which is out on beta has caught up with Chrome on average page load times, we will have to see how that performs.
     
  13. yorkieman

    yorkieman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Yorkshire (nr. Leeds)
    Ratings:
    +260
    I kind of like Chrome. I moved to it because Firefox seemed to be getting slower and slower, although I haven;t checkout the latest version.

    Couple of things though.

    Firstly, I don't feel good cozying up to the evil Google empire.

    Second, it doesn't seem to work seamlessly with 1Password, which is the most popular Mac OSX password manager.

    Other than that, it seems good.
     
  14. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Ratings:
    +213
    Sill having problems,removed cookies plus various other ideas on the chrome forum.
    So removed and reloaded. Now on clicking the chrome icon instead of the chrome home page I get conduit.com. Any ideas what going on ?
    Confused of Leicester.:helptitanic:
     
  15. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ratings:
    +3,064
    Me too having problems with chrome, so much that I have gone to IE again and I am on IE 9 which is a lot like chrome but much faster than the old IE.
    The old IE used to keep crashing which is why I went to chrome in the first place but now back with IE again.
     
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,628
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,242
    I don't put that down as a plus point. I like to know when I'm being interfered with.

    Google is all invasive. You've seen Peter (JC) moaning about the spying. They really are Big Brother, but clever with it. Lots of freebies to show how good they are, but behind the scenes god knows what is going on. World Domination.
     
Loading...

Share This Page