Gas On or Off while travelling? (1 Viewer)

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
My last two vans have had Secumotion regulators with crash sensors and anti rupture hoses so I travel with the gas on. Always turn off for ferries.

Before that with ordinary regulators always turned it off.

Oct 12, 2009
SW London, Poland and all Europe
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Arto 69GL
Exp
Since 2009
Generally I have always turned it off.

Recently on short trips on country lanes where risk of a high-impact collision is small I have done the following -

I carry out a Risk Assessment, write it out in triplicate and send a copy to the HSE.

I then delete that e-mail and say to my self 'Oh F*ck it, I cannot be bothered to open the locker.', so off we go.

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Off. We will have used Gas/EHU to get the fridge ready ~30min before a holiday departure.
Then just MH 12v for the travelling.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
On, because we have the secumotion regulator and antirupture hoses fitted. Really cannot be bothered to have to switch it on and off when we stop for a cuppa. Only times it is off is when we refill or in the tunnel.

Oct 17, 2013
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Adria Compact
Exp
Since 2013
We have an underslung tank, which is a bit fiddly to turn off and on. We turn it off on ferries, but otherwise leave it on. Working on the principle that lpg powered vehicles have tanks and obviously cannot turn them off when travelling.

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp