free wi fi connection in France

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by tilly ivimey, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. tilly ivimey

    tilly ivimey

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Chester. UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    We went to France twice this year and despite repeated attempts could never log on to any free wifi sites. My laptop kept telling me I needed a password. This never seemed to bother other nationalities who just breezed up snd two minutes later were happily skyping away or otherwise using the web. none of the experts in the pub can help so I decided to go straight to the top. You lot!!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou, Bill and Tilly
     
  2. dragabed

    dragabed

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    wifi france

    i have used my lap top throughout france and the only time i have needed a password was on sites and paying for it .
     
  3. dragabed

    dragabed

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    wifi france

    i have used my lap top throughout france and the only time i have needed a password was on sites and paying for it .we have found shopping mals with free wifi big macs and small villages but plenty of it about oh also public libraries
     
  4. savantuk

    savantuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Ratings:
    +39
    It's worth trying a series of zeroes or nines. These are often default codes for free wi-fi, and I've often found them to work.
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,975
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,950
    Is your lappy set to only find secured Wifi:Doh:
    if not it should find the freebies too:thumb:
     
  6. neilmac

    neilmac

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    UK, France & Spain
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sounds useful Doug, any particular sequence to the zeros and nines to try?:winky:
     
  7. savantuk

    savantuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Ratings:
    +39
    No sequence necessary. Try a series of zeroes, or a series of nines, ie 0000000 or 9999999. Count the dot's in the password box to get the correct number of digits required.

    If zeroes and nines don't work, then try other numbers.:Smile:
     
  8. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,860
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,584

    Bill
    When you try to find a wifi site ...do you get secured and un-secured sites come up on your laptop.....could be one site could be 21 +....depending who is switched on and where you are...but keep trying as it changes all the time.....normaly when you click on the un-secured site and if the signal is good it may take a little while to connect, but you should get onto the web.

    Mel
     
  9. wayfarer

    wayfarer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Co. Clare. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Bill and Tilly,
    I had this snag in France with a new laptop this year also and after trying every trick in the book I finally rang an IT friend at home. He told me to switch off the firewall then connect to the internet, and when you are connected just switch on the firewall again. Everything worked fine after that.
    :Smile:
     
  10. AuldCodger

    AuldCodger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +126
    Hi,
    I have found that sites with free wifi still require you to enter a password, many do not provide the password on check-in - just ask.
    :Smile:
     
  11. Baggins

    Baggins

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed this year that Orange has become the predominant supplier of broadband - especially along the Riviera - and their home/business broadband routers are never unsecured.

    You can easily buy hourly/monthly connection but quite expensive.

    I think the locals you see connecting freely have home broadband accounts that extend to mobile use like BT in UK.

    BW:Smile:
     
Loading...

Share This Page