nigglynelly

Free Member
Jul 31, 2009
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I am currently out in the van but whilst driving here the engine malfunction light came on. It continued to drive as normal but it did loose power on a hill so I pulled over and stopped the engine for a few minutes. When I started it again it seemed fine. The same thing happened a few weeks ago so I took it to the garage and they said the fault was a turbo charger under boost. They reset it and thought it was a glitch as they couldn't see anything and also said it needed a good run.
I'm supposed to be going to another site further from home later this week but I'm worried I may cause danage by driving it. The options are continue as planned or return home and go to the garage again. Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:
OP
OP
nigglynelly

nigglynelly

Free Member
Jul 31, 2009
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Thank you. I've had a look but I'm not technical enough to really understand it. Is it an air intake problem?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Bluemooner

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 30, 2012
Ribble Valley
Funster No
MH
Dreamseeker Fifth Wheel
Exp
4 years
Must admit i haven't got a clue hopefully somebody who knows will see your post

Derbyshire wanderer

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 30, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
15 years
You don't say how old your vehicle is but the most likely causes are in the following order
A leak in the pipework between the turbo and the inlet manifold but this should also be easy to find as you should hear the roar of leaking air pressure compared to how it used sound
The variable vane turbo actuator is stuck causing low boost pressure. This is not easy to check but will need the operating arm rotating to ensure it's not seized (common when engine not used for weeks at a time)
The EGR valve being stuck open again causing low boost pressure. Can be stripped and cleaned but usually needs replacement for effective repair